webhelper4u.com - case of defamation

May 12th, 2005
AddThis Social Bookmark Button AddThis Feed Button

Today I saw one new article about me. From time to time I see stories about me created from nothing. Here is the latest example:
http://www.webhelper4u.com/nontransponders/jurgitasites/jurgita_2-files_com.html

Webhelper calls himself a professional in spyware and security field. This article proves his unprofesionality.
It is said there that our sites runs ADWARE installs. The title says that 2-spyware.com 2-FILES.COM. runs IBIS adware installs.
But neither 2-spyware.com nor 2-files.com has anything related to IBIS except its removal instructions.
If you read the article you see that the story is about far different site - 2-free.net.
Yes its one of our sites too.


Lets analyse 2-free.net site:


Yes its the site with some tasteful nudity. If you are offended with this kind of nude wallpapers then just don't go there. This has nothing to do with spyware or adware and of course no relations to PORN.

In the article you can find screenshots with so called proves of IBIS install from our site 2-free.net.

2-free.net doesnt host any active x components or scripts. There is only GOOGLE AdSense code over there. Google is controlling what ads to deliver, not the webmaster.

So this "expert" pressed the advertisement which was delivered by google and found that this new page tried to Install IBIS toolbar.

So that's how the myth emerged once again!!

Now because Google delivered bad advertisement to the site 2-free.net, all other sites developed by us, even those which fights against spyware and has very strict policy regarding adware became sites which supports adware. Can this deduction be called professional? :) you decide.

Anyway we asked this "expert" to send us the domain name which delivers install of IBIS toolbar. We will report it to Google AdWords and ban it in the Google AdSense program. From our IP range we don't see any graphical ads delivered from google, only text ads.
until now - no response.


UPDATE:


Webhelper updated his thread and stated that webmaster can control his adverts, but he forgot to mention that webmaster can't think out the names of all possible fraudulent sites. Fore example maybe webhelper itself will install IBIS in his site and he will purchase some AdWords related to desktops, so his site will be shown on our site and of course we will be able to block it only after we will see it, NOT BEFORE.

domain: http://screensavers.funutilities.com/ was added to the Adsense filter.

So After all its a story about nothing.


Just to know who is creating tales from nothing here is the Whois information of domain webhelper4u.com:

looks like fake information, name with the mistake, phone doesn't exist. This person tries to hide himself. He didn't provide us clear contact details.

Organization:

webhelper4u.com

Partick Jordan

PO BOX 130 - 5317 Fruitville RD

Sarasota, FL 34232

US

Phone: 941-111-0000

Email: pjordan@syncon.net
Registrar Name….: Register.com

Registrar Whois…: whois.register.com

Registrar Homepage: http://www.register.com

Domain Name: WEBHELPER4U.COM

5 Responses to “webhelper4u.com - case of defamation”

  1. Silas Says: Nice little war :)
  2. Offline Says: Good one :) )))
    Like in best o.www times :) )
  3. Juice Says: not to worry about every competitor
  4. Dave Says: I have a site that appears in this list: http://webhelper4u.com/CWS2/cwslists/cwsbyip.txt . My site has never and will never contain spyware or malware etc. I would love to know how webhelper4u.com obtains his information from. I have emailed him and I shall just have to wait and see i get a response or if the email bounces..
  5. Caz Says: Well I know its over a year since the last comment, but I thought you should know that today I came across the site funutilities.com, so did a search on google.com to check if it was related to any spyware reports. The only thing I FOUND was the one you mentioned above, and it certainly appears to me that person’s comments were unfounded. So I have congratulate you that despite me searching dilligently, I found NOTHING to do with spyware related to funutilities.com.
    Thanks for providing such lovely wall papers.

Leave a Reply